Marshall County Trust & Savings Company.

Believing there was a need of more banking facilities in Plymouth, a County Trust & Savings company. The following are the names of the board of directors for the first year: C. A. Reeve, L. J. Hess, Emanuel Shively, John Morelock, C. W. Baker, F. E. Garn and H. L. Singery. The following are the first officers: C. A. Reeve, president; L. J. Hess, vice-president; H. L. Singery, secretary. The company purchased the Sear block, on the southwest corner of Michigan and La Porte streets, and the corner room is the home of the company, which has been arranged with all the appliances for the convenience and safety of the business to be transacted therein.

The First State Bank-Bourbon.

The First State Bank of Bourbon commenced business April 10, 1902, in the "model" business room on the northeast corner of Main and Richmond streets, and continued its operation in that building until October 1, 1904, when it moved into its own banking house on the southeast corner of Main and Center streets. It is provided with a large vault, the walls of which are two feet through and the top is covered with railroad iron. It also is provided with a fire and burglar-proof safe, both of which are provided with the latest and best time locks. The bank was started with a capital stock of \$25,000, which was later increased to \$40,000. The deposits average about \$200,000, nearly all of which is deposited by the business men of Bourbon and the farmers in that section of the county. The capital stock and surplus is now \$75,000. The officers now are the same as when the bank was first organized with the exception of vice-president; for the first term Jacob Pritch filled that office. The officers are: President, H. F. Bowman; vice-president, J. W. Davis, Jr.; cashier, C. C. Vink; bookkeeper, Bessie Vink. The organizers of this bank, Mr. Bowman and Mr. Vink, are both long residents of Bourbon. Mr. Bowman was for several years connected with the banking business in South Bend and later with the Matchette bank in Bourbon; and Mr. Vink served over two terms as treasurer of Marshall county, giving them an experience which is very valuable in the management of their bank.

The Bourbon Banking Company.

This company was recently organized in the town of Bourbon for the purpose of doing a general banking business in conformity to the laws of Indiana on the subject of banking. Its officers are as follows: Dr. B. W. Parks, president; William Erwin, vice-president; C. M. Parks, eashier; Owen S. Gaskill, assistant cashier. Directors: Dr. B. W. Parks, William Erwin, C. M. Parks, O. S. Gaskill, Gilbert Coar, Charles Hillies, Robert Erwin, John Thomas, and C. B. Harris.

State Exchange Bank of Argos.

The State Exchange Bank was first organized in 1884 as a private bank by William Railsback and T. O. Taber, and was named the Exchange Bank of Railsback & Taber. In June, 1890, it was organized into a state bank with a capital stock of \$25,000, under the name of the State Exchange State Bank of Argos, Indiana, receiving a charter under above name, which so remains. The first president was William Railsback and the first cashier T. O. Taber. The bank has at present a capital stock of \$25,000; surplus. \$5,000; deposits, \$85,000. The officers are: William Railsback, president; L. N. Barr, vice-president; C. D. Chapman, cashier; Earl R. Taber, assistant cashier.

LXXII. MARSHALL COUNTY'S MILITARY RECORD.

Marshall county has always been patriotic and has always furnished its quote of soldiers in the different wars in which the country has been engaged since the organization of the county. The Mexican war infused a military spirit into the patriotically inclined, and a few veterans who took part in the Mexican campaign were instrumental in setting the military fires ablaze.

In 1854 the Bourbon Light Infantry was organized through the efforts of Capt. John C. Hedrick, a Mexican war veteran, who votea for Andrew Jackson for president. The articles of association are in the well-known handwriting of Capt. Hedrick, on the thirteenth of May, 1854. Those who "enlisted" pledged themselves to continue in the "service" for a period of six years unless sooner discharged. Each member was required to uniform himself with a pair of fine boots with red top fronts, white drilling pantaloons, a red sash at least six feet in length, a black or deep blue frock coat, a black stock, a black glazed cap, plati and plume. The company was required to meet at Bourbon for drill on the last Saturday of April, May, June, August and September in each year, and on the Fourth of July of every year.

It was provided that each officer who should behave in an "unofficer" life manner while on parade should be fined \$1, and each moncommissioned officer and private who should behave in an unsoldierlike manner while on duty should be fined 50 cents. Any member who should get drunk while on duty, if a commissioned officer, should be fined \$5, and all others \$2, and be liable to be discharged by the captain. Fines collected were to be applied to the payment of the musicians and other necessary expenses

of the company.

On application of Rufus Brown, colonel of the Fifth regiment of the Indiana militia, the board of commissioners ordered the necessary arms and accounterments to be forwarded to the company by the governor. The following were elected officers of the company: John C. Hedrick, captain: John E. Mooney, first lieutenant; William Beunett, second lieutenant; William McWhorter, sergeant; Ralph Curry, second sergeant; William Brown, third sergeant; E. G. Mulser, fourth sergeant; Oliver Morris, treasurer; John McWhorter, John Sharley and John Nidig, drummers; Isaac Noel, first corporal; Ben Johnson, second corporal; Zachariah Senior, third corporal; William Gillespie, fourth corporal. Whether the company lived out the alloted time specified in the articles of association is not stated, and the information at hand is confined to the above narrative.